top of page

ADVENTURES IN CHILE

A travel blog

Welcome to my blog! I created this to document my 12 weeks in Santiago de Chile and (maybe) share it with others. Hope you enjoy reading about my experience and thanks for checking this out!

Search
  • Writer's pictureBaah

Week 12: Goodbyes

Wednesday Dec. 5


Though this was not my last day of work, this is when we had my “Goodbye Lunch” with the team at DEO.


We went out to Misión, an upscale restaurant in Vitacura, a couple blocks from the office. Shortly, after arriving, the ground started shaking, my first earthquake. None of the Chileans seemed to react, at all. It was a 5.5, and the center was nearby – however, anything under a 7 is just a temblor – not even a terremoto.


I ordered duck ravioli, because where else does one find such a dish? And it was good. At first, I was kind of skeptical because the bowl was huge and the food itself didn’t take up all that much space, but it was filling. Also, context, I had stayed home with food poisoning the day before, so I didn’t exactly know what my stomach could handle. I went from eating only bread and applesauce one day to eating duck ravioli the next.


Pepa and Isma had a toast and it was so sweet. I never really know what to do during toasts, but I really appreciate the kind words.


Shortly after, there was a meeting to go to, so Pepa and Isma (directors/bosses at DEO) went off, leaving their credit card with us…. We stayed for dessert – chocolate lava cake, churros, crème brûlée. When it came to the bill, I was a little worried – it was a pricey restaurant. However, there was a 40% discount on Wednesdays for cardholders of a certain bank, and Isma qualified. Suddenly, it made sense why they chose this restaurant.


We went to pay and the waiter told us that the discount was on Wednesdays in November, but had moved to Fridays for December. RIP. We ended up paying the full bill on our boss’ card.



Thursday Dec. 6


This was my last day of work.


I’m not a fan of goodbyes, but it was all good. I got heartfelt goodbyes from everyone and I left a thank you letter on my desk.


That night, I went out with Natalia from CIEE and Susi for a good-bye dinner. This time too, it was at a fancy restaurant (I have never been to so many fancy restaurants in my life – I feel like I was spoiled in Chile). I had a chirimoya pisco sour to drink – which was pretty good. We had a an appetizer with raw salmon, which maybe wasn’t the best idea given that I was recovering from food poisoning, but it was all good. For my main course, I had salmon in puff pastry with potatoes from Chiloé. It had little dots of different colored sauces and everything – it was so fancy. For dessert, we ordered light – slices of fruit with lemon mint sauce and chocolate on top.


While there, we talked about the experience and I started to realize that I was really leaving, that I’d miss this place. Only one more day left.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

CONTACT

Email:

Available upon request:

WhatsApp, Skype, Google Hangouts, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat

  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • Facebook (Messenger)
20180920_122638.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page