top of page

ADVENTURES IN CHILE

A travel blog

Welcome to my blog! I created this to document my 12 weeks in Santiago de Chile and (maybe) share it with others. Hope you enjoy reading about my experience and thanks for checking this out!

Search
  • Writer's pictureBaah

Week 10: Puerto Montt (The South – Part 1)

Thursday Nov. 22


It was weird going into work on Thanksgiving as if it were a regular day. When my family had their Thanksgiving lunch, they tried to call me, because they forgot that I was at work.


Though I didn’t get the day off, I did get to leave early so that I could catch my flight to Puerto Montt. Though I had packed myself some broccoli and hummus for dinner, it was Thanksgiving dinner and that warranted a splurge. That’s right, overpriced McDonald’s at the Airport.


I got pretty lucky with this flight – I was able to get window seats and watch the sun set as we flew over Chile. It was amazing – looking at the snow-covered mountains from above, watching towns appear in the valleys between mountains and seeing the sky turn pink over the green fields of the lake region.


I arrived to Puerto Montt after 9 pm, just at the sun had set. I took a transfer to the bus terminal and walked to my hostel from there.

I was slightly confused when I arrived at a wooden house in a residential area in the hills of the town. Rock music boomed from somewhere down the street – so maybe the area was more than a normal neighborhood? Luckily, there was a sign near the door letting me know that, this was indeed my hostel, Casa Perla.


I was greeted by, who I assumed must have been Perla, who let me know what room I was staying in. It was a really quaint space – everything was wooden and creaked just a little, making it feel like a cabin. Shortly after arriving, the other two beds in the room were filled by a pair traveling from Europe. The girl was from Spain, and the guy was German (names escape me… not sure if I ever really learned them). They had just spent two days making their way up from Patagonia – in boats and on roads that closed due to the downpours that I had just missed. (This region is notoriously rainy). They had travelled all over Chile in just two weeks – hitting all of the stops that I had seen, and more. I was amazed. They were fun to talk to – the guy had worked in South Carolina for 3 months and loved the food (particularly obsessed with Five Guys) but wasn’t a fan of the guns. I always love hearing an outside perspective of the US.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

CONTACT

Email:

Available upon request:

WhatsApp, Skype, Google Hangouts, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat

  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • Facebook (Messenger)
20180920_122638.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page