top of page

ADVENTURES IN CHILE

A travel blog

Welcome to my blog! I created this to document my 12 weeks in Santiago de Chile and (maybe) share it with others. Hope you enjoy reading about my experience and thanks for checking this out!

Search
  • Writer's pictureBaah

Week 10: Thanksgiving, Abroad

Wednesday, Nov. 21


I was sad to spend Thanksgiving abroad. What had always been a holiday was just another day here in Chile, and that was kind of strange. Luckily, CIEE hosted a Thanksgiving potluck for their students – so there was a little taste of home.


I brought vegetables – broccoli and carrot sticks and hummus. I figured that some of the students missed vegetables and health food because they aren’t a huge part of the Chilean diet (at least I did).


We met in the backyard of Claudia’s apartment where CIEE had provided two, full, beautifully roasted turkeys. All of the students brought dishes – we had everything from mashed potatoes to mofongo to mac and cheese. And my favorite, we had 2 whole apple pies – one fresh baked that evening.


At the event I got to talk to a bunch of other CIEE students that I hadn’t seen since rafting in week two. We listened to Latin music and people danced. It was cool. I was sad not to spend the holiday with family, but this was still a good way to do it.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

CONTACT

Email:

Available upon request:

WhatsApp, Skype, Google Hangouts, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat

  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • Facebook (Messenger)
20180920_122638.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page