top of page

ADVENTURES IN CHILE

A travel blog

Welcome to my blog! I created this to document my 12 weeks in Santiago de Chile and (maybe) share it with others. Hope you enjoy reading about my experience and thanks for checking this out!

Search
  • Writer's pictureBaah

Week One: Hiking.

Sept. 22


I had never been on an intense hike before.


I was mildly anxious about our proposed 17 km hike, but I told myself not to worry about it. Hiking is all about mental game - positive thoughts. At least that's what I read in an article the night before about first time hikers.


I didn't feel prepared - I didn't have wool socks, I didn't have experience, I didn't know if I had the physical endurance.


But I did it.


I got up early to go to the grocery store, buy more bread, and pack Nutella sandwiches. I may not have had the endurance, but I would have food.


Susi came with Marina, Jenny and I on our hike in El Parque de Aguas de Ramón.


At the beginning of the hike, about 2 minutes in, Jenny had a question and yelled to the man a couple meters in front of us, "Hey, boy in the red!". His name was Pio, and he was a godsend. He hiked the entire hike with us - from start to the end, all 6+ hours of it. He normally hikes it in 4 miles, but he slowed down to guide us through it. His help made all the difference, I felt a lot better about the hike (at least on the way up). We hiked up and down mountains, over rivers, past plenty of cacti.


We hiked to the Salto de Apoquindo - a waterfall embedded deep in the mountains. We turned back after a short lunch because we were cutting it close on time. It took us 3.5 hours to get there.


Hiking back, I didn't have the same great attitude, nor the confidence. I had no idea how we had even made it that far in the first place. I was terrified on slipping and sliding on loose gravel, down the side of the mountain and into plenty of spikey cacti. I have a terrible fear of falling, and going down the trails was much more scary for me, though it was physically easier than going up.


Eventually we made it out. I am alive, and I have an incredible experience under my belt.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

CONTACT

Email:

Available upon request:

WhatsApp, Skype, Google Hangouts, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat

  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • Facebook (Messenger)
20180920_122638.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page