top of page

ADVENTURES IN CHILE

A travel blog

Welcome to my blog! I created this to document my 12 weeks in Santiago de Chile and (maybe) share it with others. Hope you enjoy reading about my experience and thanks for checking this out!

Search
  • Writer's pictureBaah

Week One: Independence Days?

Sept 18:


The city was empty, vacio. September 18th is las Fiestas Patrias, Chile's Independence day. The days before and after are also part of the holiday, which means the entire week is basically a vacation, an opportunity for people to travel and leave the city. Almost all businesses are closed.


I took these first few days to rest, I woke up after thirteen and a half hours of sleep, it was great. It was a slow, resting day in the house. I went on a walk to explore the neighborhood. Lots of little parks and varying residential architecture.


Chile can be, well, chilly. This is their springtime, but the winter weather has hung around. I was not prepared for this, and as a result, I have spent multiple days wrapped in my blanket scarf.


Wanting to observe the festivities, I researched events going on in the city and decided to go to the nearest one, so I hopped on a bus, they're called micros here. I've navigated public transport many times before in other cities, but I''l admit, I struggled a little the first day.


The festival was on a blocked off street. There was music playing and people dancing. There were local crafts for sale and restaurants that were open (!!!). I had my first terremoto - a Chilean drink that is made during holidays consisting of icecream, pisco and wine (I think?). I wasn't a huge fan, it was too sweet and a little on the strong side, but it was good to try! I also bought an empanada, the first of many, I am sure.


I returned home on the metro, which was fun, and spent the rest of the night binge watching a drama on Netflix with Jenny.



Happy Independence Day Chile!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

CONTACT

Email:

Available upon request:

WhatsApp, Skype, Google Hangouts, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat

  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • Facebook (Messenger)
20180920_122638.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page